Data privacy: Web-Analysis & Cookies

Please allow us to do Web Analysis and Remarketing. It helps us to understand what kind of content you might like and to show advertising messages that could be interesting for you. Click „OK“ in case you want to allow us to do Web Analysis and Remarketing according to our data privacy note. Here you can always withdraw your agreement.
Volkswagen Classic Parts
Cart 0

Recently added item(s)

You have no items in your shopping cart.

History since 2009, but unforgotten until today:

Volkswagen Classic Parts - Citi Golf Südafrika

Volkswagen have been produced in South Africa since 1951. It all started with the Beetle, of course, but the Volkswagen plant in Uitenhage became world-famous primarily for the Golf. To be more precise, the Golf Mk1, which remained in production there for more than 31 years from 1978. How was that possible?

The answer is simple: the South Africans simply never stopped buying it! This is how the Golf Mk1 outlived its successors of the second, third, fourth and fifth generation. And this is how it came: 1984 saw the market launch of the Golf Mk2, called "Jumbo Golf" in South Africa. The new Golf was significantly more modern, larger and more comfortable than its predecessor - but also more expensive. Possibly too expensive for the entry level segment, which is extremely important in Africa. Volkswagen South Africa therefore decided to simply continue building the Golf Mk1 in parallel with its successor using the existing production facilities. However, under a new name and with a new objective: the car now called the Citi Golf was revised to attract primarily young buyers and bind them to the Volkswagen brand. Fresh, bright colours (red, yellow and blue) combined with white contrasts on the rims, trim, tailgate and bumpers gave the "old" Golf a new look. With the help of an advertising campaign that is still legendary in South Africa today, it was possible to position the Citi Golf as a clever alternative: a chic, affordable, "cool" car that is also a reliable partner.

It sounds almost like a fairytale, but the idea worked perfectly. The Citi rushed from one sales record to the next and the "new life" of the Golf Mk1 lasted well into the 21st century. It wasn't until August 21st, 2009, that the last one came off the production line - an incredible 26 years after the end of production in Germany! Today, ten years later, thousands of Citi Golf still run and run in South Africa, as our photo shows. The Golf Mk1 has become an icon there as well as in Germany and many other countries of the world.

Its fans know: The "Einser" as we call it in Germany can never be replaced, but you still can replace most parts if you need to. Volkswagen Classic Parts makes it possible: Together with Volkswagen de México we not only produce new Beetle body parts or bring T2 Kombi parts from Volkswagen do Brasil to Europe - soon we will also be offering numerous Golf Mk1 parts from the warehouses of Volkswagen South Africa! So that your classic car remains an original.

Volkswagen Classic Parts - Citi Golf South Africa

Prices incl. VAT excl. shipping


The products from South Africa are expected to arrive in late summer and autumn 2019. Some of them are only available in limited quantities. If you don't want to miss their arrival, please subscribe directly for the Volkswagen Classic Parts Newsletter!

Volkswagen Classic Parts - Citi Golf Südafrika

Datenschutz: Web-Analyse & Cookies

Bitte erlauben Sie uns Webanalyse und Remarketing. Warum? Weil es uns dabei hilft, zu verstehen, welche Inhalte Ihnen besonders gefallen und um relevante Werbebotschaften zu zeigen, die auf Ihre Interessen zugeschnitten sind. Klicken Sie auf „OK“, wenn Sie uns Webanalyse und Remarketing entsprechend unserer Datenschutzhinweise ermöglichen wollen. Hier können Sie Ihre Einwilligung jederzeit wiederrufen.
Volkswagen Classic Parts
Warenkorb 0

Kürzlich hinzugefügte Position(en)

Sie haben keine Artikel in Ihrem Warenkorb.

Seit 2009 Geschichte, aber bis heute unvergessen:

Volkswagen Classic Parts - Citi Golf Südafrika
Schon seit 1951 werden in Südafrika Volkswagen produziert. Angefangen hat natürlich alles mit dem Käfer, aber weltbekannt wurde das Volkswagen Werk in Uitenhage vor allem durch den Golf. Genauer gesagt durch den Golf 1, der dort ab 1978 mehr als 31 Jahre lang vom Band lief. Wie war das möglich?

Die Antwort ist so simpel wie verblüffend: die Südafrikaner hörten einfach niemals auf, ihn zu kaufen! So überlebte der Golf 1 dort seine Nachfolger der Generationen 2, 3, 4 und 5. Und das kam so: 1984 stand die Markteinführung des Golf 2 bevor, in Südafrika "Jumbo Golf" genannt. Der neue war deutlich moderner, größer und komfortabler als sein Vorgänger - aber eben auch teurer. Womöglich zu teuer für das gerade in Afrika extrem wichtige Einsteigersegment. Deshalb entschloss sich Volkswagen of South Africa, mit den schon vorhandenen Fertigungseinrichtungen einfach den Golf 1 parallel zu seinem Nachfolger weiterzubauen. Allerdings unter neuem Namen und mit neuer Zielsetzung: der nun Citi Golf genannte Wagen sollte vor allem junge Käufer ansprechen und sie an die Marke Volkswagen binden. Frische, leuchtende Farben (rot, gelb und blau) in Verbindung mit weißen Kontrasten an Felgen, Zierleisten, Heckklappe und Stoßfängern verliehen dem "alten" Golf neuen Pep. Mithilfe einer in Südafrika bis heute legendären Werbekampagne gelang es, den Citi Golf als clevere Alternative zu positionieren: ein schickes, günstiges, „cooles“ Auto, das gleichzeitig ein verlässlicher Partner ist.

Es klingt fast märchenhaft, doch die Idee funktionierte bestens. Der Citi eilte von einem Verkaufsrekord zum nächsten und das "neue Leben" des Golf 1 dauerte noch bis weit ins 21. Jahrhundert. Erst am 21. August 2009 lief das letzte Exemplar vom Band - unglaubliche 26 Jahre nach dem Produktionsende in Deutschland! Heute, zehn Jahre später, laufen und laufen in Südafrika immer noch Tausende Citi Golf, wie unser Foto beweist. Dort genießt der Golf 1 ebenso Kultstatus wie in Deutschland und vielen anderen Ländern der Welt.

Seine Fans wissen: Für den "Einser" wird es nie einen Ersatz geben, aber immer Ersatzteile. Volkswagen Classic Parts macht's möglich: Wir produzieren gemeinsam mit Volkswagen de México nicht nur neue Käfer Karosserieteile oder holen T2 Teile von Volkswagen do Brasil nach Europa - demnächst bieten wir auch zahlreiche Golf 1 Teile aus den Lägern von Volkswagen of South Africa an! Damit Ihr Klassiker ein Original bleibt.

Volkswagen Classic Parts - Citi Golf Südafrika

Preise inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten


Die Produkte aus Südafrika werden voraussichtlich im Spätsommer und Herbst 2019 eintreffen. Teilweise sind sie nur in begrenzter Stückzahl verfügbar. Wenn Sie die Ankunft nicht verpassen und direkt nach Wareneingang bestellen möchten, melden Sie sich am besten direkt für den Volkswagen Classic Parts Newsletter an!

Volkswagen Classic Parts - Citi Golf Südafrika